After a great fire in the town in 1765, which also destroyed the wooden synagogue, it took a few years for the Jewish community of Úštěk to get permission to build a new church with stones from the local quarry.
Built in 1791-1794 in the classicist style, the synagogue is located on a ledge of a steep slope. In later times a Neo-Renaissance hallway and two small rooms for a school and for accommodating a teacher were added. Ornamental paintings with Moorish motifs date from this period. After World War II the building was closed and fell into disrepair before being renovated between 1993 and 2003. Today it offers visitors tours of its unique interior and exterior, as well as an exhibition commemorating the local Jewish community.
In its vicinity are also the restored rabbi's house and other houses and the remains of a street from the Jewish quarter.