Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Lapidarium and Arboretum Gohrisch

Collection of historical landmarks and over 30 "Trees of the Year"

Lapidary of historical landmarks

The origin of the boundary stones collected in this lapidarium goes back to the year 1557, when the first description of the Electoral Saxon forests and the surveying of the main forest areas took place.
The original Gohrischer Grenzsteinlapidarium was a private collection. From there, the forest boundary stone moved to a new location, directly at the Arboretum Gohrisch. The collection primarily shows forest boundary stones. They marked the boundaries of the former electoral or royal forest and later state forest. In particular, boundary stones that have been damaged and/or those that have been removed from their location and are no longer used can be viewed on the new one.
A total of over 2,000 historical forest boundary stones from the area of Saxon Switzerland have been recorded, inventoried and mapped. The stones in this lapidarium are intended to indicate that it is important to protect and preserve even 'relatively insignificant' cultural monuments, such as forest boundary stones.

arboretum

The area on which special trees should have the opportunity to grow into stately specimens is around 4,000 square meters. It is about those species that have held the title "Tree of the Year" in the past 30 years. These include, for example, the robinia (tree of the year 2020), a common oak (1989), a black alder (2003), a service tree (1993) or a ginkgo. The latter was even voted “Tree of the Millennium” by the Tree of the Year Board of Trustees.

The project was realized by the Gohrisch local history and mountain association, which also takes care of the area and the plants, together with the Sachsenforst. The members have also created a circular route with explanations, quiet areas and a butterfly meadow.

(This is an automatic translation by Google Translator.)

Address

Tiergartenweg
01824 Gohrisch

Contact

Tel: +49 35021 67659 (Verein)

Tel: +49 3596 585710 (Sachsenforst)

open_in_newWebsite

Opening hours

Daily 9 a.m. to 6 p.m

(This is an automatic translation by Google Translator.)

Arrival

The Lapidarium and the Arborteum can be reached on foot in 15 to 20 minutes from the bus stop in the town centre.

(This is an automatic translation by Google Translator.)

ProCache: v401 Render date: 2024-06-21 00:33:20 Page render time: 3.5215s Total w/ProCache: 3.5253s

Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Lapidarium und Arboretum Gohrisch

Sammlung historischer Grenzsteine sowie über 30 "Bäume des Jahres"

Lapidarium historischer Grenzsteine

Der Ursprung der in diesem Lapidarium gesammelten Grenzsteine führt ins Jahr 1557 zurück, als die erste Beschreibung der kursächsischen Wälder sowie die Vermessung der Hauptwaldungen erfolgte.
Das ursprüngliche Gohrischer Grenzsteinlapidarium war eine private Sammlung. Aus ihr zogen die Forstgrenzstein an einen neuen Standort, direkt am Arboretum Gohrisch um. Die Sammlung zeigt in erster Linie Forstgrenzsteine. Mit ihnen wurden Grenzen des ehemaligen kürfürstlichen bzw. königlichen Waldes und späteren Staatswaldes gekennzeichnet. Vor allem beschädigte Grenzsteine und oder solche, die von ihrem Standort entfernt worden waren und keine Verwendung mehr fanden, können am neuen besichtigt werden.
Insgesamt sind bisher über 2.000 historische Forstgrenzsteine aus dem Gebiet der Sächsischen Schweiz erfasst, inventarisiert und kartiert worden. Die Steine in diesem Lapidarium sollen darauf verweisen, dass es wichtig ist, auch 'relativ unbedeutende' Kulturdenkmale, wie es Forstgrenzsteine sind, zu schützen und zu erhalten.

Arboretum

Etwa 4.000 Quadratmeter groß ist die Fläche, auf der besondere Bäume die Gelegenheit haben sollen, zu stattlichen Exemplaren heranzuwachsen. Dabei geht es um jene Arten, die in den vergangenen 30 Jahren den Titel "Baum des Jahres" trugen. Hierzu gehören etwa die Robinie (Baum des Jahres 2020), eine Stieleiche (1989), eine Schwarzerle (2003), ein Speierling (1993) oder ein Ginkgo. Letzterer wurde vom Kuratorium Baum des Jahres sogar zum „Baum des Jahrtausends“ gekürt.

Das Projekt wurde vom Heimat- und Gebirgsverein Gohrisch, der auch die Pflege des Areals und der Pflanzen übernimmt, zusammen mit dem Sachsenforst seit 2021 realisiert. Die Mitglieder haben zudem einen Rundweg mit Erklärungen, Ruhebereiche sowie eine Schmetterlingswiese angelegt.

Adresse

Tiergartenweg
01824 Gohrisch

Kontakt

Tel: +49 35021 67659 (Verein)

Tel: +49 3596 585710 (Sachsenforst)

open_in_newWebsite

Öffnungszeiten

Täglich 9 – 18 Uhr

Anreise

Das Gelände ist von der Bushaltestelle "Gohrisch Parkplatz" directions_railway directions_bus in der Ortsmitte etwa einen Kilometer entfernt.

Wie der Name der Haltestelle schon verrät: Dort kann man auch parken.

ProCache: v401 Render date: 2024-05-23 01:22:27 Page render time: 0.8815s Total w/ProCache: 0.8838s