Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Local museum Bad Schandau / Erich Wustmann Museum

Museum on the local and cultural-historical side of the town of Bad Schandau and Saxon Switzerland as well as on the explorer Erich Wustmann

In its local history section, the museum of the town of Bad Schandau conveys insights from the past and present of the region of the Upper Elbe Valley. In a cultural-historical permanent exhibition, impressive exhibits are shown on the subjects of town history, Elbe navigation, tourism and mountaineering. Furthermore, the Museum Bad Schandau shows a permanent exhibition about the research trips of the honorary citizen Erich Wustmann.

Elbe navigation

The development of Bad Schandau is closely connected with the Elbe shipping. Upstream, barges were pulled by human hands until the 19th century. When in 1837 the first steamboat sailed the Elbe, the Elbe valley opened up for an increasing number of tourists. Tools of shipbuilding and numerous ship models are impressively displayed in our museum.

Tourism

After an iron-bearing spring was discovered in the Kirnitzschtal valley in 1680, the first bathhouse was built in 1799, along with representative new hotel buildings. The hotelier Rudolf Sendig contributed significantly to Bad Schandau's tourist development with his elegant hotels, which attracted a select international public to Schandau. When Bad Schandau received its official title "Bad" and many other interesting facts about tourism in the spa town can be found in the museum in Bad Schandau.

Mountaineering

Already in 1850 the ascent of the Saxon sandstone cliffs began from a sporting point of view. For the first ascents, aids such as ladders and steps carved into the rock were still permitted, but this changed in 1890 when new rules strictly rejected these means. From now on only ring hooks and ropes were used for belaying. This and many other interesting information and developments from 150 years of mountain sports in Saxon Switzerland can be seen in the exhibition in the Bad Schandau Museum.

Erich Wustmann

Exhibits, photos and songs, which the explorer Erich Wustmann collected from his expeditions from Scandinavia and South America, are presented in an entertaining way. The exhibition offers an exciting and instructive immersion into the world of the Nordic reindeer herders and the Indians of the tropical rainforest.

 

Address

Badallee 11
01814 Bad Schandau

Contact

Tel: +49 (0) 35022 42173

open_in_newWebsite

Opening hours

May to October

Tuesday-Friday 14.00 - 17.00

Saturday/Sunday 10.00 - 17.00

November to April

Tuesday to Sunday 14.00 b- 17.00

Closed

24.12./31.12./January

Prices

Adults 3,50

Reduced 2,50 €

Family ticket 4,00 €

 

The Euroregion Culture Card is valid here.

Arrival

The nearest bus stop is "Bad Schandau, Kurpark" directions_railway directions_bus, on the other side of the Kurpark.

More bus lines (and occasionally the ferry) go to the bus stop "Elbkai" directions_railway directions_bus. From there it is less than one kilometre to the museum.

If you arrive by car, parking spaces are available in the immediate vicinity of the museum, on Badallee.

Euroregion Elbe Labe Logo der Euroregion Elbe Labe

Heimatmuseum Bad Schandau / Erich Wustmann Museum

Museum zur heimatlichen und kulturgeschichtliche Seite der Stadt Bad Schandau und der Sächsischen Schweiz sowie zum Forschungsreisenden Erich Wustmann

Das Museum der Stadt Bad Schandau vermittelt in seinem heimatkundlichen Teil Kenntnisse aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart der Region des oberen Elbtals. In einer kulturgeschichtlichen Dauerausstellung werden zu den Themen Stadtgeschichte, Elbeschifffahrt, Tourismus und Bergsteigen eindrucksvolle Exponate gezeigt. Weiterhin wird im Museum Bad Schandau eine Dauerausstellung rund um die Forschungsreisen des Ehrenbürgers Erich Wustmann gezeigt.

Elbeschifffahrt

Die Entwicklung Bad Schandaus hängt eng mit der Elbschifffahrt zusammen. Stromaufwärts wurden Kähne bis ins 19. Jahrhundert von Menschenhand gezogen. Als 1837 das erste Dampfschiff auf der Elbe fuhr, erschloss sich das Elbtal für eine steigende Zahl an Touristen. Werkzeuge des Schiffbaus und zahlreiche Schiffsmodelle werden in unserem Museum eindrucksvoll dargestellt.

Tourismus

Nachdem im Jahre 1680 im Kirnitzschtal eine eisenhaltige Quelle entdeckt wurde, errichtete man 1799 das erste Badehaus sowie repräsentative Hotelneubauten. Der Hotelier Rudolf Sendig trug mit seinen vornehmen Hotels maßgeblich zur touristischen Entwicklung Schandaus bei, die ein auserlesenes internationales Publikum nach Schandau lockte. Wann Bad Schandau seinen amtlichen Titel “Bad” erhielt und viele weitere interessante Fakten zum Tourismus in der Kurstadt finden Sie im Museum in Bad Schandau.

Bergsteigen

Schon 1850 begann die Besteigung der sächsischen Sandsteinfelsen unter sportlichen Gesichtspunkten. Bei den ersten Besteigungen waren Hilfsmittel wie Leitern und in den Fels geschlagene Stufen noch erlaubt, doch das änderte sich im Jahr 1890, als mit neuen Regeln diese Mittel strikt abgelehnt wurden. Zur Sicherung dienten ab sofort nur noch Ringhaken und Seile. Diese und viele weitere interessante Informationen und Entwicklungen von 150 Jahren Bergsport in der Sächsischen Schweiz sind in der Ausstellung im Bad Schandauer Museum zu besichtigen.

Erich Wustmann

Erlebnisreich dargestellt werden Exponate, Fotos und Gesänge, die der Forschungsreisende Erich Wustmann von seinen Expeditionen aus Skandinavien und Südamerika zusammentrug. Spannend und lehrreich bietet die Ausstellung ein Abtauchen in die Welt der nordischen Rentierzüchter und der Indianer des Tropischen Regenwaldes.

Adresse

Badallee 11
01814 Bad Schandau

Kontakt

Tel: +49 (0) 35022 42173

open_in_newWebsite

Öffnungszeiten

Mai bis Oktober

Dienstag-Freitag 14.00 - 17.00 Uhr

Samstag/Sonntag 10.00 - 17.00 Uhr

November bis April

Dienstag bis Sonntag 14.00 b- 17.00 Uhr

Geschlossen

24.12./31.12./Januar

Preise

Erwachsene 3,50 €

Ermäßigte 2,50 €

Familienkarte 4,00 €

Hier gilt der Kulturpass der Euroregion Elbe/Labe.

Anreise

Die nächstgelegene Bushaltestelle ist "Bad Schandau, Kurpark" directions_railway directions_bus, auf der anderen Seite des Kurparks.

Mehr Buslinien (und gelegentlich die Fähre) verkehren zur Haltestelle "Elbkai" directions_railway directions_bus. Von da ist es weniger als ein Kilometer zum Museum.

Bei Anreise mit dem Auto stehen in unmittelbarer Nähe des Museums, auf der Badallee, Parkplätze zur Verfügung.