Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Kirnitzsch valley tram

Touristic tramline through Kirnitzsch valley in Saxon Switzerland

Since 1898, the Kirnitzschtalbahn has been transporting hikers, tourists and spa guests to their destinations. It was planned from the beginning as an excursion railroad. For about 8 kilometers, the meter-gauge train accompanies the Kirnitzsch River on its course through the bizarre rock world of the Elbe Sandstone Mountains from Bad Schandau to the Lichtenhain Waterfall. The journey takes 25 minutes, in summer the train runs every half hour.

In the narrow valley, only a single-track route could be realized, which also runs mostly on the road. This often leads to obstructions by cars and thus sometimes to delays. The only head-on collision between two railroads occurred in 1973.

Over the decades, the existence of the railroad has been threatened several times. Often, the structural condition of the line was poor, which is why the railroad operation was completely stopped between 1969 and 1972. In 1985, too, it had to be interrupted temporarily due to structural deficiencies, but the final discontinuation was prevented by protests. Since 1990, the railroad has been running again on its full length. After a flood in August 2010, operations were again temporarily at a standstill.

The railroad owes its popularity not only to the impressive landscape, but also to the historic carriages, which have been lovingly maintained for decades. The fleet consisted and still consists of a mixture of different streetcar cars. The wagons built in 1928 especially for the Kirnitzschtalbahn have not been in regular service since the end of the 1970s, nor have some particularly old other wagons. Instead, wagons were brought in that had already been in service for a long time in various cities (Dresden, Plauen, Zwickau, Jena, Halle, Leipzig) and had been taken out of service there. Thanks to these historic wagons, the Kirnitzschtalbahn served as a backdrop in the movie "The Reader" (even though it was supposedly running in a city there).

Address

Kurpark, Bad Schandau
01814 Bad Schandau

Contact

Tel: +49 3501 7111300

emailEmail

open_in_newWebsite

Opening hours

Summer season (April - October)

about 8 to 20 o'clock every 30 minutes

Winter season (November - March)

about 10 to 18 o'clock every 70 minutes

Prices

Single trip: 7,00 € / 3,50 €

Day ticket: 10,00 € / 5,00 €

Family day ticket: 25,00 €

For dogs the reduced single ticket is valid.

VVO time passes for the tariff zone Bad Schandau, the Germany ticket and the Host card Saxon Switzerland are valid, but not the semester ticket.

Arrival

The Kirnitzschtalbahn starts at the stop "Kurpark, Bad Schandau" directions_railway directions_bus. This is located about 500 m from the market square to the north into the Kirnitzsch Valley.

The final stop of the tram is "Lichtenhainer Wasserfall, Lichtenhain (Sebnitz)" directions_railway directions_bus.

Parking is available near the Kurpark stop.

ProCache: v401 Render date: 2024-05-22 18:10:32 Page render time: 1.0808s Total w/ProCache: 1.0837s

Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Kirnitzschtalbahn

Touristische Überlandstraßenbahn im Kirnitzschtal

Seit 1898 befördert die Kirnitzschtalbahn Wanderer, Touristen und Kurgäste zu ihren Zielen. Sie wurde von Anfang an als Ausflugsbahn geplant. Auf etwa 8 Kilometern begleitet die meterspurige Bahn das Flüsschen Kirnitzsch auf seinem Lauf durch die bizarre Felsenwelt des Elbsandsteingebirges von Bad Schandau zum Lichtenhainer Wasserfall. Die Fahrt dauert 25 Minuten, im Sommer wird im Halbstundentakt gefahren.

In dem engen Tal ließ sich nur eine eingleisige Strecke realisieren, die zudem meist auf der Straße verläuft. Das führt des öfteren zu Behinderungen durch Autos und damit auch manchmal zu Verspätungen. 1973 ereignete sich der einzige Frontalzusammenstoß zweier Bahnen.

Im Laufe der Jahrzehnte war die Existenz der Bahn mehrfach gefährdet. Häufig war der bauliche Zustand der Strecke schlecht, weshalb der Bahnbetrieb zwischen 1969 und 1972 komplett eingestellt wurde. Auch 1985 musste er aufgrund baulicher Mängel zeitweise unterbrochen werden, die endgültige Einstellung wurde jedoch durch Proteste verhindert. Seit 1990 verkehrt die Bahn wieder auf ihrer vollen Streckenlänge. Nach einem Hochwasser im August 2010 stand der Betrieb wieder zeitweise still.

Ihre Beliebtheit verdankt die Bahn nicht nur der eindrucksvollen Landschaft, sondern auch den historischen Wagen, die liebevoll gepflegt seit Jahrzehnten verkehren. Der Fuhrpark bestand und besteht aus einer Mischung verschiedenster Straßenbahnwagen. Die 1928 speziell für die Kirnitzschtalbahn gebauten Wagen verkehren seit Ende der 1970er Jahre nicht mehr im Regelverkehr, ebenso einige besonders alte andere Wagen. Stattdessen wurden Wagen herbeigeholt, die bereits lange in unterschiedlichen Städten (Dresden, Plauen, Zwickau, Jena, Halle, Leipzig) verkehrten und dort ausgemustert wurden. Dank dieser historischen Wagen diente die Kirnitzschtalbahn als Kulisse im Film "Der Vorleser" (wenn sie dort auch angeblich in einer Stadt verkehrte).

Adresse

Kurpark, Bad Schandau
01814 Bad Schandau

Kontakt

Tel: +49 3501 7111300

emailEmail

open_in_newWebsite

Öffnungszeiten

Sommerhalbjahr (April - Oktober)

etwa 8 bis 20 Uhr alle 30 Minuten

Winterhalbjahr (November - März)

etwa 10 bis 18 Uhr alle 70 Minuten

Preise

Einzelfahrt: 7,00 € / 3,50 €

Tageskarte: 10,00 € / 5,00 €

Familientageskarte: 25,00 €

Für die Mitnahme von Hunden gilt die ermäßigte Einzelfahrt.

VVO-Zeitkarten für die Tarifzone Bad Schandau, das Deutschlandticket sowie die Gästekarte Sächsische Schweiz sind gültig, nicht jedoch das Semesterticket.

Anreise

Die Kirnitzschtalbahn beginnt an der Haltestelle "Kurpark, Bad Schandau" directions_railway directions_bus. Diese befindet sich ca. 500 m vom Marktplatz entfernt nach Norden ins Kirnitzschtal hinein.

Die Endhaltestelle der Bahn ist "Lichtenhainer Wasserfall, Lichtenhain (Sebnitz)" directions_railway directions_bus.

Parkplätze stehen in der Nähe der Haltestelle Kurpark zur Verfügung.

ProCache: v401 Render date: 2024-04-22 14:23:44 Page render time: 1.6520s Total w/ProCache: 1.6553s