In 1908, Heinrich Lumpe, a businessman from Ausig (old German name for Ústí nad Labem), bought a plot of land on the slope of Mariánská skála, where a large variety of different birds lived. Thus a bird reserve called Lumpepark was created. The park covered an area of 6 hectares.
A large number of stones were used for the construction, often 30 - 40 q heavy. From Thuringia 20 carts of travertine were imported, limestone with fossils, from which hundreds of protected corners for bird nests and artificial depressions with water were created. It was also used to build a fairy tale cave and a dwarf castle, the only one that has been preserved to this day. In the following years many birdhouses were placed in the reserve and a number of trees, bushes and flowers were planted.
After World War II the park became a place where the inhabitants of Ústí nad Labem liked to spend their free time.
Since the 1970s the zoo has grown to almost 30 hectares. Over the years it has changed a lot. New pavilions were built for rhinos, giraffes, elephants, zebras and antelopes.
At present the zoo is visited by about 150,000 people per year. A small zoo train drives through (on the paths, not on rails). Due to the hilly terrain, we recommend that you take the train to the top and walk down through the zoo.
There is also a restaurant where visitors can refresh themselves.