Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Museum of artificial flowers and local history "Prof. A. Meiche", Sebnitz

Museum in the capital of and about artificial flower production as well as local history

The artificial flower and local history museum "Prof. Alfred Meiche" documents on three floors important phases of the history of the border region and the city of Sebnitz. The museum of Sebnitz town history was already founded in 1909 by the Sebnitz trade association and has been located in a Umgebindehaus built in 1731 since 1994. Today the Sebnitz Museum of Artificial Flowers and Local History houses a collection of over 12,000 exhibits and a museum library with over 3,000 titles.

The visitor has the opportunity to gain insight into the more than 750-year-old town history of Sebnitz and the life and living culture in Sebnitz of past centuries. In addition to a weaver's parlour, an office of an artificial flower manufacturer, a homeworker's cottage as well as a baroque and a Biedermeier room can be seen.

The extensive collection of folk art and folklore of Saxony includes the unique Sebnitz shadow play as well as several works of local artists. In addition to drawings, watercolours and oil paintings, personal notes, e.g. by Ilse Ohnesorge and Hanns Georgi, are also preserved. Further important collections are the scientific legacies of Prof. Dr. Alfred Meiche and Wilhelm Leberecht Götzinger, personal records and documents of the founder of the Hohnstein Puppet Theatre Max Jacob as well as the photo archive of the press photographer Siegfried Thomas.

(source: tourismus.sebnitz.de)

The museum is currently closed for a longer period due to renovation work.

Address

Hertigswalder Str. 12 - 14
01855 Sebnitz

Opening hours

Currently closed for a longer period due to renovation.

Prices

The Euroregion Culture Card is valid here.

Arrival

Sebnitz is easy to reach by train or bus. From the station Sebnitz directions_railway directions_bus it is a good walk to the city center. To the museum it is about 1 km.

The bus station Sebnitz directions_railway directions_bus is only about 350 m away.

If you arrive by car, there are parking facilities right next to the museum.

Euroregion Elbe Labe Logo der Euroregion Elbe Labe

Sebnitzer Kunstblumen- und Heimatmuseum "Prof. A. Meiche"

Museums zur Kunstblumenherstellung und Heimatgeschichte

Das Kunstblumen- und Heimatmuseum "Prof. Alfred Meiche" dokumentiert auf drei Etagen bedeutende Phasen der Geschichte der Grenzregion und der Stadt Sebnitz. Das Museum zur Sebnitzer Stadtgeschichte wurde bereits 1909 durch den Gewerbeverein Sebnitz gegründet und hat seinen Sitz seit 1994 in einem 1731 erbauten Umgebindehaus. Heute beherbergt das Sebnitzer Kunstblumen- und Heimatmuseum einen Sammlungsbestand von über 12.000 Exponaten und eine über 3.000 Titel zählende Museumsbibliothek.

Dem Besucher bietet sich die Möglichkeit des Einblicks in die über 750jährige Stadtgeschichte von Sebnitz und die Lebens- und Wohnkultur im Sebnitz vergangener Jahrhunderte. So sind neben einer Weberstube ein Kontor eines Kunstblumenfabrikanten, eine Heimarbeiterstube sowie ein Barock- und ein Biedermeierzimmer zu sehen.

Die umfangreiche Sammlung zur Volkskunst und Volkskunde Sachsens umfasst neben dem einzigartigen Sebnitzer Schattenspiel die Sammlungen etliche Werke heimischer Künstler. Neben Zeichnungen, Aquarellen und Ölbildern sind auch persönliche Aufzeichnungen, z. B. von Ilse Ohnesorge und Hanns Georgi, erhalten. Weitere bedeutende Sammlungen sind die wissenschaftlichen Nachlässe Prof. Dr. Alfred Meiches und Wilhelm Leberecht Götzingers,  persönliche Unterlagen und Dokumente des Begründers der Hohnsteiner Puppenbühne Max Jacob sowie das Fotoarchiv des Pressefotographen Siegfried Thomas.

(Quelle: tourismus.sebnitz.de)

Das Museum ist derzeit wegen Sanierungsarbeiten längerfristig geschlossen.

Adresse

Hertigswalder Str. 12 - 14
01855 Sebnitz

Öffnungszeiten

Derzeit längerfristig wegen Sanierung geschlossen.

Anreise

Sebnitz ist gut per Zug oder Bus zu erreichen. Vom Bahnhof Sebnitz directions_railway directions_bus ist es ein gutes Stück Fußweg ins Stadtzentrum. Bis zum Museum ist es ca. 1 km.

Der Busbahnhof Sebnitz directions_railway directions_bus ist nur rund 350 m entfernt.

Wenn Sie mit dem Auto anreisen, befinden sich Parkmöglichkeiten unmittelbar neben dem Museum.