Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Plant garden and local museum Wehlen

Plant garden with over 600 plant species, a glass beehive and a local history museum

The plant garden is located on the southern slope above Lohmener Straße. The mountaineer and sculptor Hans Thumm (1872 - 1950) laid out the garden in hard work, next to the former mountaineer's lodge, which was later changed into the Heimatstube by Dr. Friese. Saxon mountaineers brought plants from all alpine regions of the world. But the local flora also found a home. The garden has an area of 5400 m² and is home to about 600 plant species.

In 1952 the then director of the local history museum, Erich Mädler, together with a gardener, took over the garden and managed it until his death in 1966. In cooperation with the Botanical Garden Dresden he completely redesigned the plant garden. The Heimatstube became an instructive museum of local history, enriched with more knowledge, especially in mineralogy and geology.

His hobby was beekeeping, which also explains the glass beehive, which he set up and maintained. There you can observe the busy bees until the month of October.

Address

Lohmener Straße 24
01829 Stadt Wehlen

Contact

Tel: +49 35024 70413

emailEmail

open_in_newWebsite

Opening hours

May - October

8 am - 6 pm

Prices

adults 2,00 €

children 1,50 €

with guest card 0,50 € reduction

The Euroregion Culture Card is valid here.

Arrival

The town of Wehlen is separated by the Elbe. On the left side of the Elbe is the railway station and opposite is the actual town of Wehlen. The ferry crossing the Elbe is only allowed for passengers. There is no bridge.

The easiest way to get here is by train and foot. From the station in Wehlen directions_railway directions_bus to the landing stage of the ferry it is 250 m. After the crossing you can reach the plant garden best on foot. From the ferry pier it is only about 400 m, but quite steeply uphill.

The nearest bus stop is "Heimatmuseum, Stadt Wehlen" directions_railway directions_bus. However, this is rarely served.

A parking lot with costs is located on the banks of the Elbe.

ProCache: v401 Render date: 2024-02-05 04:41:46 Page render time: 0.8200s Total w/ProCache: 0.8234s

Euroregion Elbe Labe Logo der Euroregion Elbe Labe

Pflanzengarten und Heimatmuseum Wehlen

Pflanzengarten mit über 600 Pflanzenarten, gläsernem Bienenstock und Heimatmuseum

Der Pflanzengarten liegt am Südhang oberhalb der Lohmener Straße. Der Bergsteiger und Bildhauer Hans Thumm (1872 - 1950) hat den Garten neben dem ehemaligen Bergsteigerheim, das später von Dr. Friese zur Heimatstube verändert wurde, in mühevoller Arbeit angelegt. Sächsische Bergsteiger brachten aus allen alpinen Regionen der Welt Pflanzen mit. Aber auch die heimische Flora fand ein Quartier. Der Garten hat eine Fläche von 5400 m² und beheimatet ca. 600 Pflanzenarten.

1952 übernahm der damalige Leiter des Heimatmuseums, Erich Mädler, zusammen mit einem Gärtner die Anlage und betreute sie bis zu seinem Tode im Jahre 1966. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Botanischen Gartens Dresden wurde von ihm der Pflanzengarten völlig neu angelegt. Aus der Heimatstube wurde ein lehrreiches Heimatmuseum, angereichert mit mehr Wissen, vor allem in Mineralogie und Geologie.

Sein Hobby war die Imkerei, das erklärt auch den gläsernen Bienenstock, der vom ihm eingerichtet und betreut wurde. In diesem kann man die fleißigen Bienen bis in den Monat Oktober hinein beobachten.

Adresse

Lohmener Straße 24
01829 Stadt Wehlen

Kontakt

Tel: +49 35024 70413

emailEmail

open_in_newWebsite

Öffnungszeiten

Mai bis Oktober

8.00 - 18.00 Uhr

Preise

Erwachsene 2,00 €

Kinder 1,50 €

mit Gästekarte 0,50 € Ermäßigung

Hier gilt der Kulturpass der Euroregion Elbe/Labe.

Anreise

Die Stadt Wehlen wird durch die Elbe getrennt. Linkselbisch liegt der Bahnhof und gegenüber die eigentliche Stadt Wehlen. Die Fähre über die Elbe ist nur eine Personenfähre. Eine Brücke gibt es nicht.

Die Anreise geht am einfachsten per Zug und zu Fuß. Vom Bahnhof in Wehlen directions_railway directions_bus bis zur Anlegestelle der Fähre sind es 250 m. Nach der Überfahrt können Sie den Pflanzengarten am besten zu Fuß erreichen. Vom Fähranleger sind es nur rund 400 m, allerdings recht steil bergauf.

Die nächstgelegene Bushaltestelle ist "Heimatmuseum, Stadt Wehlen" directions_railway directions_bus. Diese wird allerdings selten bedient.

Ein kostenpflichtiger Parkplatz befindet sich am Elbufer.