Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Kalvárie in Ostré

Baroque place of pilgrimage in an outstanding location

The Kalvárie in Ostré near Úštěk can alraedy be seen from far away, sitting high up on the mountain. It is a baroque place of pilgrimage consisting of two chapels and a long staircase leading up to them. It was built in 1704-1707, and from the village of Ostré a Way of the Cross leads to the Calvary.

The usual date of pilgrimage was May 3rd. Some particularly dedicated believers climbed the steps to the chapel on their knees.

In 2005, the "Society for the Restoration of the Monuments of the Region Úštěk" took over the pilgrimage site in order to prevent the ongoing devastation and to preserve this attractive place for future generations. Occasionally cultural events are held here (e.g. Theatre on the stairs). In 2011 the stations of the Way of the Cross, including the statues, were completely restored.

From the top you have a wonderful view over the valley of Úštěk and the surrounding mountains of the Bohemian Central Mountains.

Address

Ostré 50
411 45 Úštěk

Offers

In Ostré you can find the restaurant (with B&B) "Pod Kalvárií".

Arrival

The nearest bus stop "Úštěk, Ostré" directions_railway directions_bus is only 500 m away.

From Úštěk the way is quite long. From the market it is a good three kilometres, including quite a few metres in altitude. From the train station Úštěk directions_railway directions_bus, which is at the other end of the town, it is another kilometre longer.

There are no explicit parking places nearby, but around the village square there are some parking possibilities.

 

ProCache: v401 Render date: 2024-05-22 18:08:37 Page render time: 1.0423s Total w/ProCache: 1.0445s

Euroregion Elbe Labe Logo der Euroregion Elbe Labe

Kalvárie in Ostré

Barocker Wallfahrsort in exponierter Lage

Die Kalvárie in Ostré bei Úštěk sieht man aus westlicher Richtung schon von weitem, hoch oben auf dem Berg. Sie ist ein barocker Wallfahrtsort, bestehend aus zwei Kapellen und einer langen Treppe, die zu ihnen hinauf führt. Errichtet wurde sie 1704-1707. Vom Ort Ostré führt ein Kreuzweg zur Kalvárie.

Der übliche Wallfahrtstermin war der 3. Mai. Einige besonders innige Gläubige erklommen die Stufen zu den Kapelle auf Knien.

2005 übernahm die "Gesellschaft zur Restaurierung der Denkmäler der Region Úštěk" den Wallfahrtsort, um die fortschreitende Verwüstung zu verhindern und diesen attraktiven Ort für zukünftige Generationen zu erhalten. Gelegentlich finden hier auch kulturelle Veranstaltungen statt (z. B. Theater auf der Treppe). Im Jahr 2011 wurden die Kreuzwegstationen einschließlich der Statuen vollständig restauriert.

Von oben hat man einen wunderbaren Blick über die Senke von Úštěk und die umliegenden Berge des Böhmischen Mittelgebirges.

Adresse

Ostré 50
411 45 Úštěk

Angebote

In Ostré befindet sich das Restaurant (mit Pension) "Pod Kalvárií".

Anreise

Die nächstgelegene Bushaltestelle "Úštěk, Ostré" directions_railway directions_bus ist nur 500 m Fußweg entfernt.

Von Úštěk aus ist der Weg recht weit. Vom Markt aus sind es reichlich drei Kilometer, inkl. einiger Höhenmeter. Vom Bahnhof Úštěk directions_railway directions_bus, der sich am anderen Ende der Stadt befindet, ist es nochmal ein Kilometer mehr.

Explizite Parkplätze gibt es in der Nähe nicht, aber um den Dorfplatz finden sich einzelne Parkmöglichkeiten.