Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Forest Botanical Garden Tharandt

Botanical garden specialized in trees with more than 200 years of tradition.

The Forest Botanical Garden Tharandt presents a variety of tree and other plant species on an area of 34 hectares on the slopes of the Kienberg hill. Due to the largely dense vegetation, it is usually enjoyable here also in hot summers, so that even the steep ascents are easy to manage.

The Forest Botanical Garden was founded in 1811 by Heinrich Cotta and Johann Adam Reum. Heinrich Cotta founded a private forestry school in Thuringia in 1785, which moved to Tharandt in 1811. It later became a forestry college and is now part of the Technical University of Dresden. Cotta is considered the "father of sustainable forestry" or even the term sustainability in general. Johann Adam Reum was a teacher at the forestry college.

In 1875 the plan for the creation of the systematic-botanical quarters, which is still valid today, was drawn up. In 1905 the creation of the geographical quarters was started and in 1978 the first detailed records of the plants' origins were compiled. In 2001 the Forest Botanical Garden was declared the Saxon State Arboretum.

The historical eastern part of the garden is 18 ha in size. Many different plant species from all parts of the world can be found here. Furthermore, there is a divided greenhouse with a warm and a cold house in this area, both of which are open to visitors. The museum and forest shop are also located here.

In the new section, which was started in 2001 and covers an area of 15.4 hectares, the focus is not on individual plant species, but on 42 North American forest formations as a whole. The natural dynamics of forests are particularly evident in the species-rich mixed stands of North American forests, where competition is particularly intense.

Both parts of the garden are separated by the Zeisiggrund, which has been spanned by a modern pedestrian bridge since 2003. In 2006, this bridge was awarded the Saxon State Prize for Building Culture.

Address

Am Forstgarten 1
01737 Tharandt

Contact

Tel: +49 351 46331258

emailEmail

open_in_newWebsite

Opening hours

April to October

daily from 8:00 - 17:00

Guided tours (1,5 - 2 h) by arrangement under +49 351 463 31274

parallel guides possible

Prices

entrance free

donations welcome

guided tours 70,00 € / max. 25 persons

Offers

Forstgartenshop (books, gifts, drinks, ice cream)

Arrival

From the train station Tharandt directions_railway directions_bus it is a 1.2 km walk to the Forstgarten. On the way you can visit the church, the castle and the palace of Tharandt.

From the nearest bus stop "Ärztehaus, Tharandt" directions_railway directions_bus it is about 500 m to the Forstbotanischer Garten.

There is a car park on Heinrich-Cotta-Straße 150 m from the entrance.

ProCache: v401 Render date: 2024-05-23 16:57:21 Page render time: 2.5902s Total w/ProCache: 2.5936s

Euroregion Elbe/LabeLogo der Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Forstbotanischer Garten Tharandt

Auf Bäume spezialisierter botanischer Garten mit mehr als 200jähriger Tradition.

Der Forstbotanische Garten Tharandt präsentiert auf einer Fläche von 34 ha an den Hängen des Kienberges eine Vielzahl von Baum- und anderen Pflanzenarten. Durch den weitgehend dichten Bewuchs ist es hier auch in heißen Sommern meist angenehm, so dass sich auch die steilen Anstiege gut bewältigen lassen.

Der Forstbotanischen Garten wurde im Jahr 1811 von Heinrich Cotta, und Johann Adam Reum gründetet. Heinrich Cotta gründete 1785 eine private Forstlehranstalt in Thüringen, die 1811 nach Tharandt zog. Sie wurde später zur Forstlichen Hochschule und ist heute Teil der Technischen Universität Dresden. Cotta gilt als "Vater der nachhaltigen Forstwirtschaft" oder gar des Begriffes der Nachhaltigkeit generell. Johann Adam Reum war Lehrer an der Forstlehranstalt.

Im Jahr 1875 wurde der noch heute gültigen Plan zur Anlage der systematisch-botanischen Quartiere erarbeitete. 1905 begann man mit der Anlage der geographischen Quartiere und im Jahr 1978 wurden die ersten detaillierten Aufzeichnungen über die Herkunftsdaten der Pflanzen angefertigt. Im Jahr 2001 wurde der Forstbotanische Garten zum Sächsischen Landesarboretum gewidmet.

Der historische östliche Teil des Gartens ist 18 ha groß. Hier finden sich viele verschiedene Pflanzenarten aus allen Teilen der Erde. Zudem befindet sich in diesem Bereich ein geteiltes Gewächshaus mit Warm- und Kalthaus, die beide für Besucher zugänglich sind. Auch das Museum und der Forstshop sind hier zu finden.

Im seit 2001 angelegten neuen Teil mit einer Fläche von 15,4 ha werden stehen nicht einzelne Pflanzenarten im Vordergrund, sondern 42 nordamerikanische Waldformationen als Gesamtheiten. Die natürliche Dynamik von Wäldern ist besonders gut erkennbar in den artenreichen Mischbeständen der nordamerikanischen Wälder, da hier die Konkurrenz besonders intensiv abläuft.

Beide Teile des Gartens sind durch den Zeisiggrund getrennt, den seit 2003 eine moderne Fußgängerbrücke überspannt. Diese erhielt im Jahr 2006 den Sächsischen Staatspreis für Baukultur.

Adresse

Am Forstgarten 1
01737 Tharandt

Kontakt

Tel: +49 351 46331258

emailEmail

open_in_newWebsite

Öffnungszeiten

April bis Oktober

täglich von 8:00 – 17:00 Uhr

Führungen (1,5 - 2 h) nach Vereinbarung unter +49 351 463 31274

parallele Führungen möglich

Preise

Eintritt frei

Spenden sind möglich

Führungen 70,00 € / Gruppe max. 25 Personen

 

Angebote

Forstgartenshop (Bücher, Geschenke, Getränke, Eis)

Anreise

Vom Bahnhof Tharandt directions_railway directions_bus sind es 1,2 km Fußweg bis zum Forstgarten. Auf dem Weg können noch die Kirche, die Burg und das Schloss Tharandt besucht werden.

Von der nächstgelegenen Bushaltestelle "Ärztehaus, Tharandt" directions_railway directions_bus sind es ca. 500 m bis zum Forstbotanischen Garten.

In 150 m Entfernung vom Eingang befindet sich ein Parkplatz auf der Heinrich-Cotta-Straße.