Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Babisnau poplar

View over Dresden from natural heritage site

From the Babisnau poplar you have a great panoramic view over the whole Elbe valley near Dresden, from Radebeul to Pirna, beyond the other "edge of your plate" to West Lusatia, Saxon Switzerland and the Eastern Ore Mountains. The view in southern direction over the Kreischaer basin to the Wilisch is very idyllic.

The Babisnau poplar itself was planted in 1808 and can be seen from many places in Dresden as a prominent silhouette on the southern horizon. It is a natural monument with a trunk circumference of about 5 m and a height of about 17 m. A viewing platform was erected next to the poplar.

Legend has it that the poplar blossomed when the end of a war was near, e.g. in 1870 and 1918. The blossom in 1943 was even mentioned by Victor Klemperer in his work.

Address

Alter Postweg
01728 Bannewitz

Opening hours

24/7

(This is an automatic translation by Google Translator.)

Arrival

Arrival by public transport is only possible as far as Goppeln (bus line 75 from Dresden city centre and regional buses). directions_railway directions_bus

Afterwards a nice walk of about 2.5 km is waiting for you. Since it leads through the valley of the Lockwitzbach, the altitude difference should not be underestimated. You can download a route a little off the road here.

By car you can park at the road north of the poplar and then walk for about 500 m.

ProCache: v401 Render date: 2024-05-22 18:45:26 Page render time: 0.7519s Total w/ProCache: 0.7549s

Euroregion Elbe Labe Logo der Euroregion Elbe Labe

Babisnauer Pappel

Blick über Dresden von altem Naturdenkmal aus

Von der Babisnauer Pappel aus hat man einen großartigen Rundblick über das gesamte Elbtal bei Dresden, von Radebeul bis Pirna, über den anderen "Tellerrand" hinaus in die Westlausitz, in die Sächsische Schweiz und ins Osterzgebirge. Der Blick in südliche Richtung über das Kreischaer Becken zum Wilisch ist sehr idyllisch.

Die Babisnauer Pappel selbst wurde 1808 gepflanzt und von vielen Stellen in Dresden aus als markante Silhouette am südlichen Horizont zu sehen. Sie ist ein Naturdenkmal mit ca. 5 m Stammumfang und einer Höhe von etwa 17 m. Neben der Pappel wurde eine Aussichtsplattform errichtet.

Der Legende nach blühe die Pappel, wenn das Ende eine Krieges nahe wäre, so z.B. 1870 und 1918. Die Blüte 1943 wurde sogar von Victor Klemperer in seinem Werk erwähnt.

Adresse

Alter Postweg
01728 Bannewitz

Öffnungszeiten

Die Aussichtsplattform ist derzeit wegen Reparaturarbeiten gesperrt. Der Blick vom Weg aus ist aber auch eindrucksvoll.

Anreise

Die Anreise mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln ist nur bis Goppeln möglich (Buslinie 75 aus dem Dresdner Stadtzentrum sowie Regionalbusse). directions_railway directions_bus

Danach wartet ein hübscher Spaziergang von ca. 2,5 km Länge. Da er erst durch das Tal des Lockwitzbachs führt, sind die Höhenmeter jedoch nicht zu unterschätzen. Eine Route etwas abseits der Straße können Sie hier herunterladen.

Mit dem Auto kann man man an der Straße nördlich der Pappel parken und dann ca. 500 m zu Fuß gehen.