Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Linden museum Schmorsdorf

The smallest museum of Saxony - about a lime tree and the pianist Clara Schumann

The lime tree in the middle of the village has been a part of village life for centuries with many stories, legends and customs. Every year it is said to fulfil one wish of the one who sits quietly under it. The lime tree is about 24 metres high with a crown diameter of about 20 metres. Before it lost part of its crown in a storm in 1884, it was 44 metres high. The trunk has two gate-like openings on one side.

The lime tree museum Clara Schumann is located right next to the lime tree. The museum, named after the pianist Clara Schumann, who walked to the lime tree several times, is permanently open and freely accessible. The first record of the building dates back to 1888, when it was used as a fire station.

With an exhibition area of 6.85 square metres, it is considered to be the smallest free-standing museum in Saxony, possibly even in Germany. It is also the only museum about a lime tree in Germany and about the pianist Clara Schumann.

Address

Schmorsdorf 2
01809 Müglitztal

Opening hours

Permanently freely accessible.

Arrival

The bus stop "Schmorsdorf, Schmorsdorf" directions_railway directions_bus is only 150 m walk from the Lindenmuseum.

A bit further away there is also a car park from which the way to the Lindenmuseum is signposted.

Euroregion Elbe/Labe

Lindenmuseum Schmorsdorf

Das kleinste Museum Sachsens - über eine Linde und die Pianistin Clara Schumann

Die Linde in der Mitte des Dorfes ist seit Jahrhunderten Bestandteil des Dorflebens mit vielen Erzählungen, Sagen und Bräuchen. Sie soll demjenigen pro Jahr einen Wunsch erfüllen, der sich ganz ruhig unter sie setzt. Die Linde ist etwa 24 Meter hoch bei einem Kronendurchmesser von etwa 20 Metern. Bevor sie einen Teil ihrer Krone bei einem Sturm 1884 verlor, war sie 44 Meter hoch. Der Stamm hat auf einer Seite zwei torähnliche Öffnungen.

Das Lindenmuseum Clara Schumann befindet sich direkt neben der Linde. Das nach der Pianistin Clara Schumann, die einige Male zur Linde gewandert ist, benannte Museum ist ständig geöffnet und frei zugänglich. Der erste Nachweis über das Gebäude stammt aus dem Jahre 1888, in dem es als Spritzenhaus diente.

Mit einer Ausstellungsfläche von 6,85 Quadratmetern gilt es als kleinstes freistehendes Museum Sachsens, eventuell sogar Deutschlands. Zudem ist es das einzige Museum über eine Linde in Deutschland und über die Pianistin Clara Schumann. Betreut wird es vom Heimatverein Maxen, der auch im Nachbarort das Heimatmuseum Maxen betreibt.

Adresse

Schmorsdorf 2
01809 Müglitztal

Öffnungszeiten

Dauerhaft frei zugänglich.

Anreise

Die Bushaltestelle "Schmorsdorf, Schmorsdorf" directions_railway directions_bus ist nur 150 m Fußweg vom Lindenmuseum entfernt.

Etwas weiter entfernt gibt es auch einen Parkplatz, von dem aus der Weg zum Lindenmuseum ausgeschildert ist.

ProCache: v401 Render date: 2024-02-02 16:42:53 Page render time: 0.7618s Total w/ProCache: 0.7637s